Naysayer

by jillyapsuga

No one ever tells you just how difficult life will be.  At least, no one ever told me.  And even if they had, would I have believed them?  Probably not.  Sure, TV shows and movies give you an idea that life is not all sunshine and gumdrops, but the one thing you’re never quite prepared for are the naysayers.  You know who I mean.  The people who say you can’t do it, that you won’t succeed, that you aren’t cut out for it; whatever ‘it’ is.  And so, as an adult, you encounter these ‘negative Nancy’s’ one at a time, but sometimes, you let them win, because it’s easy.  You give up, give in, or convince yourself that whatever it was isn’t what you want anymore.  Most of the time however, you’re strong enough to just tune them out.  But sometimes, that voice is a bit closer to home. That’s when it’s the worst; when the voice telling you that you can’t make it, is your own.  Whether it related to your career, an athletic endeavor or relationship; we’ve all been there.  We’ve all won some of those battles and lost some. 

There were people who told me that I was entering a male dominated field of study but I didn’t let that deter me.  Every time someone told me I couldn’t do something, it made me work that much harder to prove them wrong.  As easy as it was, and is, for me to rally my energy against an external force; it’s that much harder to do the same when I am the one telling myself I can’t/I shouldn’t/I’ll fail.  I quit a lot of activities back when I was in High School.  It wasn’t until I graduated from college and started to listening to myself that I began to follow things through to the conclusion that I had envisioned at the start. 

The ability to listen to yourself and trust your judgment is one of the greatest lessons you can ever learn.  I’m not saying it’s easy and I’m certainly not claiming to have mastered it.  What I am claiming however, is that you will feel stronger than you ever have, if you don’t give in to yourself.  That little inside voice filling your head with negativity will only grow if you don’t stamp it out.  Don’t be your own obstacle; there are enough of those in life already.  Stay positive.  Remember the passion and energy that got you started in the first place.  Don’t lose sight of that.  It’s your greatest weapon against your greatest enemy; yourself.   Replace “I can’t” with “I WILL”, because it’s true.  Believe in the power you already possess and you will succeed.  I promise.

