Definition

by jillyapsuga

I do not subscribe to society’s view of femininity.  I simply do not buy into it, and neither should you.  Let me explain.  There is such a broad spectrum of what it means to be feminine that it is foolish to believe in one ideal.  Whether you believe a woman should be delicate and demure or a tough as nails, take no crap champion; both are valid forms of what it means to be a woman.  We certainly shouldn’t judge other women based on where they fall in this spectrum; otherwise we become our own worst enemy. 

For example – my favorite color bounces between green and orange.  I love action movies and beer.  I learned how to drive a stick shift because I want to own a ’67 Stingray some day.  Do these traits mean that I am less feminine than my girlfriends who love to shop, get weekly pedicures and relish rom-com movie marathons?  I think not.

There are all kinds of feminine.  Dainty or Daring.  Neither one is more “feminine” than the other.   And there’s no reason you can’t be both.  The reality of the 21st Century is that most people fall in the middle.  This also holds true for men, who have to deal with the same issues in regards to the definition of masculinity.

So don’t ever feel like you need to fit someone’s mold of what it means to be a woman.  Create your own style of femininity.  Just realize that your view may be VERY different from that of the woman sitting next to you.  It’s not a matter of which way is right or wrong, or better or worse.  You BOTH simply are, women.  Equally strong, equally confident, equally feminine.

