Momma

by jillyapsuga

My maternal grandmother died of complications due to breast cancer when my mother was 26.  I think about that a lot.  I’m 28 now, I’ll be 29 in little over a month and I can’t imagine life without my mother.  The woman who kissed my bruises as a child, read to me, helped me with my schoolwork, fostered my imagination and helped me discover who I am as a woman, never had the chance to spend time with her mother when she was 28.  This was more than thirty years ago , so while breast cancer was common, the media and societal support for the cure was nowhere near the juggernaut it is today.  My grandmother was sick for quite a while, as I understand it.  I never had the chance to know her.  I like to think she was a little bit of my mother and her siblings all rolled into one.

I am telling you this for two reasons of which I am sure you were aware prior to this reading, but nevertheless, I will share.  Please check your breasts regularly.  We’ve all known someone who has been affected directly or indirectly by cancer.  With all cancers, early detection is key.  So set your phone to give you a reminder each month, mark it on your calendar or use one of the handy-dandy apps that are available for just such things.  It could save your life.  It’s odd to think that a part of our bodies used to nourish new life is capable of taking our lives.  So please, do a self breast check every month.  Your family and friends will thank you.

The second reason I am sharing is that Mother’s Day is right around the corner.  Be good to your mothers.  I can’t imagine life without mine.  Even though I may get frustrated with my mother from time to time (especially when she needs help navigating the internet), she is my safety net.  I know that when I need her, she will be there.  Her voice calms me; her hugs soothe me.  On this Mother’s Day and every day, give thanks for your mother.  And if, like me, you are lucky enough to see your mother, be grateful and give her a soothing hug in return.

 

Helpful Links:

How to do a self breast exam

If distance is an issue this Mother’s Day you can always send an eCard!

Or if you both have Google+ or Skype, you can video chat!

