Body Movin’

by jillyapsuga

I will forever be baffled and completely perplexed by the notion of “female perfection”. Every woman is perfect! Every body shape, hair color, eye color, facial features…it’s all perfect! Which brings me to my latest irritation with print publications specifically. This whole ‘thigh gap’ thing boggles my mind. The reality for most women is that their thighs touch. And it’s NORMAL! Hear me girls? It’s NORMAL. There is nothing healthy or attractive about altering your appearance to attain a version of beauty manufactured by someone else. In this case, the print industry is the biggest culprit in perpetuating this latest body modification. As previously mentioned, women come in all shapes and sizes. No matter where you fall on the physical spectrum, whether you are a size 2 or 22, you are beautiful. The most important thing when it comes to your body is that you are making sure that it is healthy.

Why desire to look like someone in a magazine? Been done. I’m bored. I want to see you for who YOU are. What shape you were meant to be is far more appealing than contorting and depriving and striving to push your body in directions it doesn’t naturally want to go. To be completely honest, I don’t even know that I could tell you the shape of the most beautiful women I’ve ever seen. Why? Because I was captivated by their confidence, the way they carried themselves, their radiant personality; not their shape. I certainly wasn’t paying the slightest attention as to whether or not their upper thighs touched. And I know for a fact that any male worth his salt shares my view. So let’s banish this whole idea that there is one physical ‘ideal’. There simply is not. Embrace your body’s quirks, let it all hang out. Just don’t forget the most important part of the entire package…attitude. That body is yours dammit! It was designed just for you. It’s the only one you’ll ever have and it is fabulous!

